This is the "Books About Legal Theory, Legal History, and Politics" page of the "Faculty Recommended Summer Reading for Incoming Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Faculty Recommended Summer Reading for Incoming Students  

Optional reading books recommended by the USD School of Law faculty for incoming law students.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/summerreading Print Guide RSS Updates

Books About Legal Theory, Legal History, and Politics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books About Legal Theory, Legal History, and Politics

Cover Art
Gideon's Trumpet - Anthony Lewis
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF 9646 .G53x L49 (Also in I.D. Weeks Library)
ISBN: 0679723129
Publication Date: 1989-04-23

Cover Art
The Radicalism of the American Revolution - Gordon S. Wood
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION E209 .W65 1992
ISBN: 0679736883
Publication Date: 1993-03-02
"Superbly written and gives the reader a fine sense of constitutional values at the time the country was formed."

Cover Art
Passion of the Western Mind: Understanding the Ideas That Have Shaped Our World View - Richard Tarnas
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION B72 .T27 1993
ISBN: 0345368096
Publication Date: 1993-03-16

Cover Art
The Brethren: Inside the Supreme Court - Bob Woodward; Scott Armstrong
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF8742 .W66 2005
ISBN: 9780743274029
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
The American Political Tradition - Richard Hofstadter; Richard Hofstadter
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION E178 .H727 1989
ISBN: 9780679723158
Publication Date: 1989-04-23

Cover Art
Simple Justice - Richard Kluger
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF4155 .K55 1976
ISBN: 1400030617
Publication Date: 2004-04-13
“The history of Brown v. Board of Education and Black America’s struggle for equality.”

Cover Art
Laughing Whitefish - Robert Traver; Matthew L. M. Fletcher (Foreword by)
Call Number: NAT. AM. & INDIG. PEOPLES - MAIN FLOOR PS3570.R339 L38 2011
ISBN: 9781611860146
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
"About legal research, Indian law, and estates."

Cover Art
A Short History of Western Legal Theory - J. M. Kelly
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K215.E53 K45 1992
ISBN: 0198762437
Publication Date: 1992-05-14

Cover Art
50 Questions on the Natural Law: What It Is and Why We Need It - Charles E. Rice
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K468 .R53 1999
ISBN: 9780898707502
Publication Date: 1999-06-01

Cover Art
Voltaire's Bastards: The Dictatorship of Reason in the West - John Ralston Saul
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION BC177 .S28 2013
ISBN: 1476718962
Publication Date: 2013-07-02

Cover Art
A Passion for Justice - Robert C. Solomon
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION HM216 .S585 1995
ISBN: 0847680878
Publication Date: 1995-09-12

Cover Art
The Law of the Land - Charles Rembar
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF352 .R45
ISBN: 9780671243227
Publication Date: 1980-05-19

Cover Art
Political Thinking: The Perennial Questions - Glenn Tinder
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION JA81 .T56 2004
ISBN: 9780321005274
Publication Date: 2003-07-02

Cover Art
The Judicial Process - Henry J. Abraham
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K2100 .A725 1998
ISBN: 0195099877
Publication Date: 1998-03-12

Cover Art
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness - Michelle Alexander; Introduction by Cornel West
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION HV9950 .A437 2011
ISBN: 1595586431
Publication Date: 2012-01-16

Cover Art
The Nature of the Judicial Process - Benjamin N. Cardozo
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF 380 .C3 x N3 (Also in I.D. Weeks Library)
ISBN: 9780300000337
Publication Date: 1960-09-10
"Provides an accessible look at the role of the courts."

Cover Art
Devil in the Grove - Gilbert King
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF224.G76 K56 2012
ISBN: 0061792284
Publication Date: 2012-03-06

 

Search the USD Law Library Catalog for Additional Books

Search "One Search" for books, articles, media, and more:

Use Advanced Search for more search options

Search USD and libraries worldwide with WorldCat@USD

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip