This is the "Legislation - Statutes & Tribal Codes, Legislative History" page of the "Conducting Free, Lower Cost, and Other Electronic Legal Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Conducting Free, Lower Cost, and Other Electronic Legal Research  

Guide highlights the presentation of the same name offered in Oct 2015 at the USD Law School
Last Updated: Sep 1, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/freelowcostresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Legislation - Statutes & Tribal Codes, Legislative History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Statutes

Fastcase (subscription) - As evidenced in the screenshots below, Fastcase provides not only the text and amendment information, but also provides case annotation infomration for the U.S. Code. 

Legal Information Institute (LII) (free)- Developed by Cornell Law School, LII provides access to not only the U.S. Code but also other federal primary law sources.  The U.S. Code is not annotated on LII, however, related Code of Federal Regulation (CFR) sections are provided and the "Notes" tab provides information about amendments to the U.S.Code section. 

Office of the Law Revision Counsel (OLRC) of the United States House of Representatives (free Government site) - The House of Representatives provides access to a current official version of the code in text or a PDF format.  The U.S. Code may be browsed or searched via the website.  However, the OLRC does not provide any annotation of the U.S. Code.

Federal Digital System (FDSys) (free Government site)- Provided by the Government Printing Office, the Federal Digital System (FDSys) allows researchers to browse or use an advanced search function to search the U.S. Code. FDSys does not provide an annotated version of the code, but does provide information regarding passage and amendments of the section.

 

Electronically Available Tribal Codes

1.  Collections of Electronically Available Tribal Codes:

a.  National Indian Law Library's Tribal Law Gateway

b.  Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project's Code Collection - The Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center  and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents.

2.  Subscription Databases - Subscription databases allow users to search within all tribal codes or within a particular code.

a.  WestlawNext - On WestlawNext select Statutes & Court Rules - Scroll down to "Territories" and select Tribal

b.  Lexis Advance - Also provides access to a limited number of tribal codes.  Tribal Codes are not currently available on LexisNexis Academic.

3.  Tribal Websites - Tribal codes may appear on tribal websites.  While some websites provide a search feature for tribal codes, a search feature is not available on a majority of websites.

 

Federal Legislative History

Thomas

Congress.gov

Federal Digital System (FDSys)

Lexis Academic  - (Not available for remote access)

Readex Serial Set 1817-1994 - (Not available for remote access)

 

South Dakota Legislative Research online materials

South Dakota Codified Laws:

South Dakota Session Laws:

  • Legislative Research Council (free) (from 1997 to present)
  • Bloomberg Law (log in required): U.S. Legislative>State Acts, Laws & Bills>South Dakota>South Dakota Acts (1999 to present).
  • WestlawNext (log in required): Home>Proposed & Enacted Legislation>(right column) Historical Enacted Legislation (Session Laws) (1990 to present).

South Dakota Legislature Bills and Bill Status Reports (all information necessary to compile a legislative history):

Legislative Research Council > Legislative Session > Select the year and click on "Bills."  For 2008-2015, search by Bill Number using "Quick Find," or by text search, the full list of bills, or the Subject Index.  For earlier sessions, type in the bill number, or click on "Bills" to search the full list of bills, the Subject Index, and in some years, by quick find and/or text search.

South Dakota Legislature Committee Minutes and Audio > Legislative Research Council > Legislative Session. Select the year and click on "Chamber or Committee."

  • For Sessions 2008 to 2015, choose House, Senate or Conference. Select by Committee name. In the blue bar, click on "Minutes" and the date of the meeting.  Click on the audio symbol    if available, to listen to the proceedings.
  • For earlier sessions, choose Senate or House.  Select by Committee name.  At the top of the page, click on "Minutes."  Click on the audio symbol  to listen to the proceedings for that day and time.

South Dakota Legislature Senate and House Journals (floor actions) and Audio Legislative Research Council>Legislative Session. Select the year and click on "Chamber or Committee."

  • For Sessions 2008 to 2015, choose House or Senate. Choose "House of Representatives" or "Senate." In the blue bar, click on "Journals."  Click on the audio symbol if available, to listen to the proceedings.

For earlier sessions, choose House or Senate.  At the top of the page, click on "Journals." Click on the audio symbol to listen to the proceedings.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip