This is the "Secondary Sources" page of the "Environmental Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Environmental Law  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/environmentallaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Secondary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Treatises

The following are treatises available in print in the Law Library.  Some are also available electronically, as well.  For treatises available only electronically through WestlawNext and LexisAdvance, see the pages on this guide titled Topical Resources in WestlawNext and Topical Resources in LexisAdvance.

Cover Art
Environmental Law - William H. Rodgers
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF3812 .R63
ISBN: 0314984100
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically through Westlaw.

Cover Art
Law of Environmental Protection - Environmental Law Institute Staff
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF3775 .L39
ISBN: 087632541X
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically via Westlaw.

Cover Art
Public Natural Resources Law - George C. Coggins
Call Number: RESERVE - MAIN FLOOR KF5505 .C642 2007
ISBN: 0876326890
Publication Date: 1990
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically via Westlaw.

Cover Art
Waters and Water Rights, 3rd ed. - Robert E. Beck, editor-in-chief; Amy K. Kelley, editor-in-chief
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF645 .W37 2009
ISBN: 1422476936
Publication Date: 2009
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically via LexisAdvance.

Cover Art
Law of Water Rights and Resources - A. Dan Tarlock
Call Number: RESERVE - MAIN FLOOR KF5569 .T37
ISBN: 0876326025
Publication Date: 1988
One volume softbound, issued annually.

Cover Art
Law of Wetlands Regulation - William L. Want
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF5624 .W36
ISBN: 0876326467
Publication Date: 1989
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically via Westlaw.

Cover Art
American Law of Mining, 2nd ed. - Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Staff
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF 1819 .R6x
ISBN: 9780820510101
Publication Date: 1984
NO LONGER UPDATED IN PRINT. Available electronically via LexisAdvance.

 

Non-Legal Articles

Environmental law questions often involve research into scientific areas such as ecology, zoology, agriculture, etc.  For articles in these areas, consider the following databases available through the University Libraries' Research Gateway:

GreenFILE (via EBSCOHost)

"Periodical articles, some in full text, on human effects on ecology and the environment, repercussions for human, animal, and plant health, better ways of sustaining the health of all through recycling, sustainable farming, renewable energy."

Science Reference Center (via EBSCOHost)

"Provides access to full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife."

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (via EBSCOHost)

"A working biologists index to world literature on mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and birds; includes studies on all aspects of their life cycles and behaviors, including hunting and management research."

 

Non-Legal Print Materials

The Law Library has print materials related to non-legal environmental topics.  Additional titles are available from I.D. Weeks.  Use the call number guide below or search the library's catalog. 

 Selected Library of Congress Subject Classes Related to the Environment

GE42

Environmental ethics

GE149

Environmental change, global

GE170-190

Environmental policy

GE195-199

Environmentalism

GE300-350

Environmental management

GF51

Environmental influences on humans

HC79

Environmental economics

HV6401-6405

Environment: crimes against

JA75.8

Green Movement

K3581-3598

Environmental law: policy

QH545

Environmental influences: ecology

RA565-600

Environmental health

S589

Environment and agriculture

TA170-171

Environmental engineering

TD169-171

Environmental protection

TD172-193

Environmental pollution

TD194

Environmental impact statements

(Adapted from Princton University's Environmental Studies Research Guide LibGuide for use with our collection)

 

Searching for Articles on Environmental Law

Looking for specific articles on an environmental law topic?  Consider these strategies for searching for and locating articles:

Use HeinOnline, which is available through Research Databases on the Law Library's website.  Consider searching the Law Journal Library by Subject.  A good option is Environmental/Conservation Law.  Also available are Natural Resources, Oil and Gas Law, and Water Law.

Search the Index to Legal Periodicals, also available through Research Databases

Search Law Reviews & Journals in WestlawNext under Secondary Sources.

Search institutional respositories such as Selected Works or SSRN for forthcoming articles or works in progress.

 

Dictionaries/Environmental Law Terminology

The McKusick Law Library has glossaries and dictionaries specifically for environmental law terminology.  These works, however, have an older publication date than other books listed in our Environmental Law LibGuide.  These books are a great start, but use discretion in relying on or citing them.

Cover Art
Environment and the Law - Vicki R. Patton-Hulce; Alexandria Renie Omikami
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF3775.A68 P38 1995
ISBN: 0874367492
Publication Date: 1995-12-01

Cover Art
Environmental Regulatory Glossary
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION WA13 .E61
ISBN: 086587798X
Publication Date: 1990-02-01

Cover Art
The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross-Reference - James J. King
Call Number: REFERENCE SHELF - MAIN FLOOR KF3775.A68 K57 1995
ISBN: 0471119954
Publication Date: 1995-02-06

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip