This is the "General Intellectual Property Law Resources" page of the "Intellectual Property Law Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Intellectual Property Law Research  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/intellectualproperty Print Guide RSS Updates

General Intellectual Property Law Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Intellectual Property Law in the USD Law Library

Cover Art
Intellectual Property, Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell - Arthur R. Miller; Michael H. Davis
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF2980 .M52 2012
ISBN: 9780314278340
Publication Date: 2012-04-02

Cover Art
Epstein on Intellectual Property - Michael A. Epstein
Call Number: RESERVE COLLECTION - MAIN FLOOR KF2979 .E6724
ISBN: 073555983X
Publication Date: 2005-12-22

Cover Art
Intellectual Property and Antitrust Handbook - American Bar Association, Section of Antitrust Law Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF3116 .I56 2007
ISBN: 9781590318669
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Cover Art
The Law Of Computer Technology: Rights, Licenses, Liabilities - Raymond T. Nimmer
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF390.5.C6 N56 2009
ISBN: 031490848X
Publication Date: 2009-

Cover Art
No Law - David Lange; H. Jefferson Powell; Jefferson Powell
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF2979 .L37 2009
ISBN: 9780804745789
Publication Date: 2008-10-27

Cover Art
The Intellectual Property Handbook - James R. Simms (Editor); William A. Finklestein (Editor)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF2979 .I4315 2005
ISBN: 1590315855
Publication Date: 2006-02-28

Cover Art
Against Intellectual Monopoly - Michele Boldrin; David K. Levine
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K1401 .B65 2008
ISBN: 0521879280
Publication Date: 2008-07-07

Cover Art
Intellectual Property Deskbook for the Business Lawyer - Sharon K. Sandeen
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF2980 .I544 2007
ISBN: 1590316800
Publication Date: 2007-11-30

 

Search the USD Law Library Catalog or Other Libraries for Additional Books Related to Intellectual Property Law Topics

Search "One Search" for books, articles, media, and more:

Use Advanced Search for more search options

Search USD and libraries worldwide with WorldCat@USD

 

Intellectual Property Law Research

This research guide covers the main resources for intellectual property law in the United States, with separate pages, or "tabs," on Copyrights, Patents, Patent Searching, Trademarks and Trade Secrets. Also included are selected resources under the tab "International Law."

 

What is Intellectual Property?

Intellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind: inventions, literary and artistic works, and symbols, names, images, and designs used in commerce. (WIPO)  The law of intellectual property is organized into four broad areas: patent; copyright; trademark and trade secrets. 

1. A PATENT is an intellectual property right granted by the United States government to an inventor "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States" for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.  (USPTO)  Three types of patents exist:
      a. Utility patents protect useful processes, machines, articles of manufacture, and compositions of matter.  Examples of utility patents: fiber optics, computer hardware, medications.
     b. Design patents protect the unauthorized use of new, original, and ornamental designs for articles of manufacture. Examples of design patents: the look of an athletic shoe, a bicycle helmet, the Star Wars characters.
     c. Plant patents protect invented or discovered, asexually reproduced plant varieties. Example of plant patents: Hybrid tea roses, Silver Queen corn, Better Boy tomatoes.
2. A TRADEMARK is a brand name.  A trademark or service mark is any word, name, symbol, device, or any combination, used or intended to be used to identify and distinguish the goods or services of one seller or provider from those of others, and to indicate the source of the goods or services.  (USPTO)   The federal government provides federal registration of trademarks and service marks.  Example of trademarks: the roar of the MGM lion, the pink of the Owens-Corning insulation, and the shape of a Coca-Cola bottle.
3. A COPYRIGHT is a protection provided by federal law to the authors of "original works of authorship," including literary, dramatic, musical, artistic and other intellectual works.  (Copyright Office)  Example of copyrighted works:  Gone With The Wind  (the book and the film), Beatles recordings, and video games.

4. TRADE SECRETS are information that companies keep secret to give them an advantage over their competitors. The formula for Coca-Cola is the most famous trade secret.

 

Information from USPTO 

 

Guide Creator

This guide was created by Marsha K. Stacey.  It has been updated by other members of the McKusick Law Library staff.

 

Online General Intellectual Property Law Resources

Bloomberg Law (log in required): Practice Centers > Intellectual Property Center. Resources include the United States Patent Quarterly containing patent, trademark and copyright decisions.

Bloomberg Law - Legal Analysis & News:
BioTech Watch
Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
Patent, Trademark & Copyright Law Daily
World Intellectual Property Report

HeinOnline (law school database): Search for law review and journal articles > Law Journal Library > use a "field search" (keywords) and the subject "Intellectual Property"

LexisAdvance (log in required): Browse Topic > Patent Law, Copyright Law, Trademark Law or Trade Secrets Law

WestlawNext (log in required): Intellectual Property  

 

Current Awareness - IPWatchdog Blog

This blog comes highly recommended by Intellectual Property Law Librarians:

IPWatchdog.com

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip