This is the "Researching with Dakota Disc and Fastcase" page of the "Summer Interns and Associates Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Summer Interns and Associates Guide  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/internships Print Guide RSS Updates

Researching with Dakota Disc and Fastcase Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dakota Disc

Some attorneys in South Dakota subscribe through the South Dakota Bar Association to Dakota Disc and Fastcase for their legal research needs. 

Dakota Disc is a CD-ROM format and is updated several times a year.  It is available to law students.  Ask Sarah Kammer in the Law Library if you would like access.

Dakota Disc contains the libraries shown below:

Double-click to open one of the libraries.  Use "Browse" to open an outline of the library.  Use "Search" at the top of the page to perform a keyword "query."

 

 

Fastcase

Fastcase is an online legal research service.  It is available to USD law students from the Law Library's Research Databases.  Fastcase contains federal and state primary law, but is limited on its secondary sources and its citator tools. 

Fastcase Help and Training

Scope of Coverage

Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as federal coverage going back to 1 U.S. 1, 1 F.2d 1, 1 F.Supp. 1, and 1 B.R. 1. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions. For more information see Fastcase's Scope of Coverage page here.

Searching for Caselaw on Fastcase

Search caselaw on Fastcase by "citation lookup," natural language, and Keyword search.  With "citation lookup,"  pull up a case using the reporter volume number, the reporter abbreviation and the first page number.  Natural language search is a good place to start if you are researching an area of law that is new to you.  You will get results of 100 cases with the highest relevance scores based on the mix of search terms.  The results may not contain all of your search terms.

Fastcase recomends a Keyword Search (below) using Fastcase Boolean operators:

Using Fastcase's Authority Check Feature

From the case you are reading, Authority Check identifies later-citing cases.  It is not a citator - it does not contain treatment information or tell you whether a case is still good law.  You will still need to use KeyCite or Shepard's to determine if the case or statute is still good law.  Authority Check, however, is useful for showing subsequent cases that discuss your case. 

Enter your citation in the search bar.  The hyperlinked number under "Authority Check" at the top of the page is the number of times the case has been cited in the Fastcase database.  Click on this number to obtain the Authority Check Report with a list of later-citing cases.

The Authority Check Report includes an interactive timeline of the later-cited cases.  The timeline tells you three things about each case:  the date of the decisions, the court level of the case and the number of times each case was cited by the diameter of the circle.  Rest your mouse over a circle for information about the case.  Click on a circle to access the full case text. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip