This is the "Additional Reading Information" page of the "Antitrust & Competition in Agricultural Markets - 2013 USD Law Review Symposium" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Antitrust & Competition in Agricultural Markets - 2013 USD Law Review Symposium  

This guide documents research sources and author publications of speakers participating in the South Dakota Law Review Symposium - Antitrust & Competition in America's Heartland (March 15, 2013)
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/antitrustsymposium Print Guide RSS Updates

Additional Reading Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Law Library Electronic Web site

The Law Library Research Databases and Resources web page makes electronic databases available to students and the public.   Bloomberg - Bureau of National Affairs is a password protected database which is restricted to use by patrons covered by our contract.

bna

 

News Articles on Agriculture & Antitrust Issues

A New York Times article, Justice Dept. Tells Farmers It Will Press Agriculture Industry on Antitrust by William Neuman, highlights the Obama administration's desire to root out agricultural anticompetitive practices. The article points out that the seed industry is one of the industries that are viewed as anticompetitive.

Mother Jones reported in early December of 2012 that the Department of Justice had ended its investigation of anticompetitive practices in the seed market.  Read Tom Philpott's article, DOJ Mysteriously Quits Monsanto Antitrust Investigation

The  Washington Monthly Magazine in their November/December 2012 issue featured an article titled: Obama's Game of Chicken.  Chicken farmers find their business practices dictated by processing companies that they are compelled to sign contracts with in order to survive.

An article by Lina Kahn entitled How Monsanto Outfoxed the Obama Administration talks about how the U.S. Department of Justice abandoned a three year investigation into Monsanto's domination practices in the area of biotech seed production.  The department closed its investigation with no written public statement. Monsanto gave a very brief press release, and that was all that has been said. 

 

South Dakota Antitrust Law

South Dakota laws governing antitrust can be found in the South Dakota Codified Laws in Chapter 37-1 which is entitled RESTRAINT OF TRADE, MONOPOLIES, AND DISCRIMINATORY TRADE PRACTICES. The Antitrust section is found at 37-1-3.1, et seq.

 

USD Law Library Holdings on Antitrust

Cover Art
Federal Antitrust Policy - The Law of Competition and Its Practice - Herbert Hovenkamp
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF1649 .H67 2011
ISBN: 9780314210050
Publication Date: 2011-05-17

Cover Art
Market Definition in Antitrust - American Bar Association, Section of Antitrust Law Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF1649 .M37 2012
ISBN: 9781614383666
Publication Date: 2012-01-01

Cover Art
Antitrust Law and Economics of Product Distribution - ABA Publishing (Created by)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF1609 .A78 2006
ISBN: 1590316975
Publication Date: 2006-12-04

Cover Art
The Law of Antitrust, an Integrated Handbook - Lawrence Sullivan; Warren Grimes; Christopher Sagers
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF1649 .S92 2016
ISBN: 9780314290786
Publication Date: 2015-10-31


Cover Art
Handbook on the Scope of Antitrust - Christopher L. Sagers; American Bar Association, Section of Antitrust Law Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF1649.85 .H36 2015
ISBN: 9781634250542
Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Cover Art
Antitrust: Examples & Explanations - Sagers
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF1649 .S35 2014
ISBN: 9781454833956
Publication Date: 2014-03-24

Cover Art
Understanding Antitrust and Its Economic Implications - E. Thomas Sullivan; Jeffrey L. Harrison
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF1649 .S89 2014
ISBN: 0769895050
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

 

USD Law Library Holdings on Antitrust Since 2013

Cover Art
Antitrust - Daniel A. Crane
Call Number: STUDY AIDS AND ACADEMIC SUCCESS - MAIN FLOOR KF1649 .C73 2014
ISBN: 1454837993
Publication Date: 2014-02-07

Cover Art
Fairness in Antitrust - Adi Ayal
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K3850 .A98 2016
ISBN: 1509907068
Publication Date: 2016-06-30

Cover Art
Antitrust: the Person-Centred Approach - Abayomi Al-Ameen
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K3850 .A95 2014
ISBN: 3319017233
Publication Date: 2013-10-21

Cover Art
Patent Assertion Entities and Competition Policy - D. Daniel Sokol (Editor)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K1506 .P38 2017
ISBN: 1107124255
Publication Date: 2017-01-26

Cover Art
Antitrust Issues in Intellectual Property Law - Bradford P. Lyerla (Editor-In-Chief); Edward M. Roney; David L. Newman; Kevin E. Noonan; Shawn M. Van Horn
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF3116 .A587 2016
ISBN: 1634254457
Publication Date: 2018-02-07

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip