Declarations and Conventions
This is the "Resources Related to Tribal Law Issues" page of the "Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian, Tribal & Indigenous Peoples Law Related Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian, Tribal & Indigenous Peoples Law Related Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=409093 Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Related to Tribal Law Issues Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tribal Legal Studies

Cover Art
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies - Justin B. Richland; Sarah Deer
Call Number: NAT. AM. & INDIG. PEOPLES - MAIN FLOOR KF8205 .R53 2010
ISBN: 9780759112100
Publication Date: 2010-01-16

 

American Indian Tribal Law

Cover Art
American Indian Tribal Law - Matthew L.M. Fletcher
Call Number: NAT. AM. & INDIG. PEOPLES - MAIN FLOOR KF8205 .F57 2011
ISBN: 9780735599758
Publication Date: 2011-02-08

 

Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice

Cover Art
Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice - Frank Pommersheim
Call Number: NAT. AM. & INDIG. PEOPLES - MAIN FLOOR KIE110 .P66 2016
ISBN: 9781611636659
Publication Date: 2015-10-30

 

Sovereignty Symposium

The Sovereignty Symposium, sponsored by the Oklahoma Supreme Court, addresses federal Indian law and tribal law issues.  Each years the materials of the Sovereignty Symposium include the papers and presentations of speakers at the Symposium.

Cover Art
Sovereignty Symposium - A Fair & Impartial Judiciary
Call Number: NAT. AM. & INDIG. PEOPLES - MAIN FLOOR KF8205.A2 S6 2013
Publication Date: 2013

 

Tribal Law Journal

The University of New Mexico School of Law's Tribal Law Journal was established in 1998 "for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations. The internal law of indigenous nations encompasses traditional law, western law adopted by indigenous nations, and a blend of western and indigenous law. Underscoring this purpose is the recognition that traditional law is a source of law...This Journal provides native peoples, practitioners, and law students an opportunity to contribute their work to the discussion relating to internal indigenous law. Contributions include, but are not limited to, tribal court case comments, reflections on tribal systems, the development of tribal law, the value of tribal law, interviews, and teachings."

The Tribal Law Journal is available as an on-line forum hosted through the University of New Mexico School of Law.  Current and past issues are available via the website.

 

Multidisciplinary Resources

1.  Subscription Databases

a. Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

The Area and Ethnic Studies Section of Project Muse includes content on Native American and Indigenous Studies, including American Indian Quarterly and Wicazo Sa Review.

b. JSTOR is a digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. JSTOR provides access to materials in American Indian Studies, African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.

2.  No cost resource

The SSRN eLibrary "consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 531,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 436,700 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications."

 

Finding Articles and Journals - Databases and Indexes

A number of practice oriented journals as well as academic law reviews offer coverage of indigenous peoples issues. Some of these journals are available in print at the University of South Dakota Law Library, and some are also available in subscription databases, including HeinOnline, Westlaw, and LexisNexis.

Searches for journal articles can be accomplished via indexing tools such as the Index to Legal Periodicals.

Many of the articles indexed or found in full text in the tools discussed above will be primarily from publishers in the United States, Canada, England and Australia.  Because the topic you are researching involves additional foreign and international topics, use of the the print subject index, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, may be necessary to locate additional article citations.  The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is not currently available from the USD University or McKusick Law Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip