Declarations and Conventions
This is the "Indigenous Peoples Law" page of the "Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian, Tribal & Indigenous Peoples Law Related Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Native American Law Guide: Federal Indian, Tribal & Indigenous Peoples Law Related Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=409093 Print Guide RSS Updates

Indigenous Peoples Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Indigenous Rights in the Inter-American System - Metarials Authored by Professor Pasqualucci

 

Rights, Resources, & Rhetoric: Indigenous Peoples & the Inter-American Court

 

Guides on Researching Indigenous Peoples Rights

1. American Society of International Law (ASIL) - Electronic Information System for International Law, Home, Individuals and Groups, & Ethnic Groups, Minorities and Indigenous Peoples.

2. GlobalLex, Update:  Christopher Dykes, Update: Research Guide on Indigenous Peoples International Law, (Aug. 2012)

 

Social Science Reserch Network (SSRN)

The SSRN eLibrary "consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 531,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 436,700 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications."

The Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) of SSRN has resources that may be of interest to those working to locate articles on indigenous peoples including:

Indigenous Nations and Peoples Ejournal

 

Finding Articles and Journals - Databases and Indexes

A number of practice oriented journals as well as academic law reviews offer coverage of indigenous peoples issues. Some of these journals are available in print at the University of South Dakota Law Library, and some are also available in subscription databases, including HeinOnline, Westlaw, and LexisNexis.
 
Searches for journal articles can be accomplished via indexing tools such as the Index to Legal Periodicals.
 
Many of the articles indexed or found in full text in the tools discussed above will be primarily from publishers in the United States, Canada, England and Australia.  Because the topic you are researching involves additional foreign and international topics, use of the the print subject index, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, may be necessary to locate additional article citations.  The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is not currently available from the USD University or McKusick Law Library.
 

Primary International Materials

1. UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (A/RES/61/295) - Adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2007. Additional information about the Declaration is available from the Office of the High Commissioner of Human Rights.

Rather than travaux preparatoires, the preparatory materials for the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous peoples are the working papers and materials of the Working Group on the Draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. These preparatory materials may be located via the webpage for the Working Group provided by Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

 

Print Titles on Indigenous Peoples

Cover Art
Indigenous Peoples - Henry Minde (Editor); Svein Jentoft (As told to); Harald Gaski (As told to); Georges Midre (As told to)
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K3247 .I527 2008
ISBN: 9789059722040
Publication Date: 2008-05-15

Cover Art
Indigenous Rights and United Nations Standards - Alexandra Xanthaki
Call Number: LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION K3247 .X36 2007
ISBN: 0521835747
Publication Date: 2007-05-17

 

Business Reference Guide to the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip