Electronically Available Tribal Constitutions and Codes
1. Collections of Electronically Available Tribal Codes:
a. National Indian Law Library's Tribal Law Index
b. Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project's Code Collection - The Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents.
c. Library of Congress Indigenous Law Portal
2. Subscription Databases - Subscription databases allow users to search within all tribal codes or within a particular code.
a. Westlaw - On Westlaw select Statutes & Court Rules - Scroll down to "Other U.S. Jurisdictions" and select Tribal
b. Lexis Advance - The list of tribal law resources, including codes, available on LexisAdvance is accessible here.
3. Tribal Websites - Tribal codes may appear on tribal websites. While some websites provide a search feature for tribal codes, a search feature is not available on a majority of websites.
Code Drafting Resources
1. The Tribal Law and Policy Institute's Tribal Court Clearinghouse, provides the following information regarding the Tribal Legal Code Project
A Draft version of this Tribal Legal Code Project was provided for review and comment at the March 1999 Shared Visions: The Native American Homeownership, Legal and Economic Development Summit, sponsored by HUD. The final version of the Tribal Legal Code Project was developed in April 1999.
The Tribal Legal Code Project contains the following:
- Part One: Tribal Legal Infrastructure for Housing and Community Development in Indian Country
- Part Two: Bibliography
- Part Three: Tribal Housing Code
- Part Four: Land Use and Planning
- Part Five: Tribal Zoning Codes
- Part Six: Tribal Building Codes
- Part Seven: Commercial Codes
- Part Eight: Tribal Corporations Codes
- Part Nine: Environmental Review Codes
- Part Ten: Tribal Probate Codes
Each tribal code section is organized to include (1) explanatory information concerning the development of the specific type of code, (2) identification and inclusion of specific tribal codes representing best practices, and (3) analysis and annotation of each of the tribal codes included in the collection.
2. National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (ULC)