This is the "Databases by Subject" page of the "Research Databases and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Research Databases and Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=386792 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 

Antitrust & Trade Law

Criminal Law

Dissertations and Theses

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
    Provides abstract and full text access to dissertation and theses, including from SJD and LL.M. programs, from around the world. Select coverage from 1861 to the present day.

Employment & Labor Law

English (Commonwealth) Law

  • HeinOnline English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867)
    The English Reports online edition from HeinOnline delivers exact page-images of the original bound reprint edition (containing more than 100,000 cases), together with the Indexes and Book of Charts to complete the collection. Additionally, multiple navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search feature, enhance the ease of access to specific cases.

Environmental Law

Ethics

  • ABA/BNA (Bloomberg - Bureau of National Affairs) Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct:
    This resource covers various issues in lawyer professional conduct, providing a practice manual approach to preventing and dealing with professional conduct issues. This resource covers such professional conduct issues as Advertising and Solicitation, Client Funds and Property, Confidentiality, Conflicts of Interest, Fees, Lawyer-Client Relationship, Malpractice, Misconduct and Discipline, Obligations to Third Persons, Qualifications, Regulation of Bar, Trial Conduct, Types of Practice, and more.

Family Law

Federal Executive Branch Materials

Federal Judicial Materials

Federal Legislative Materials

  • U.S. Statutes at Large
    This HeinOnline Resource provides access to the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789-2009. Access to Early Federal Codes & Compilations of Statutes is also provided.

Foreign Legal Materials

  • HeinOnline World Consitutions Illustrated
    World Constitutions Illustrated (WCI) contains thousands of contemporary and historical documents, as well as many features to enable users to browse and search across constitutional law of more than 190 countries. WCI contains current constitution, constitutional histories of several countries including the United Kingdom, France, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, India, Mexico, Italy, South Africa, and El Salvador (among others), books on constitutional law, with specific chapters tied to specific countries. WCI also provides access to articles about constitutional development, links to online resources related to political development, bibliographies of constitutional monographs.
  • Canada Supreme Court Reports
    This HeinOnline Resource provides access to the Canadian Supreme Court Decisions from 1876-2012.

General Legal Resources

  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. LN Academic provides access to some of the resources available via Lexis Advance and LexisNexis Law School.
  • Lexis Advance  
      
    Lexis Advance is the newest system from Lexis for Law Students and Legal Professionals. This research service provides access to a collection of databases available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases. Access to Lexis.com is no longer available as of December 31, 2016.
  • Westlaw  
      
    Westlaw provides access to primary and secondary legal resources.

Health Law / Medical

Historical Legal Sources

  • HeinOnline Legal Classics
    The HeinOnline Legal Classics Library offers more than 1,200 works from the late 18th through the mid 20th centuries. Authors include renowned legal minds in history, including Joseph Story, Louis Brandeis, Benjamin N. Cardozo and Edwardo Coke. The collection focuses on constitutional law, political science, and other classic topics.
  • Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
    Contains both a historical and contemporary comparison of the world legal systems. An international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Encyclopedia covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.

Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

Intellectual Property Law

International Law & Treaties

  • HeinOnline Foreign & International Law Resources Database
    Includes International Yearbooks and Periodicals, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and Other Significant Works Related to Foreign and Internaltional Law
  • HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library
    The Treaties and Agreements Library contains ALL of the U.S. treaties, whether currently in force, expired, or not yet officially published. It includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set ("The Blue Set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
  • Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
    Contains both a historical and contemporary comparison of the world legal systems. An international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Encyclopedia covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.

Legal Instruction

  • Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) Lessons  
      
    Offers computer-based legal tutorials for use by law students on a wide variety of topics. Students please click the "i" information icon to obtain additional information regarding how to access the USD CALI Authorization Code.

Legal Periodicals

  • HeinOnline (Remote Access)
    Provides access to a comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals. Each journal in the database begins from its inception. Also includes access to code of federal regulations, legal classics, treaties and agreements, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. statutes at large, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals (previously provided by WilsonWeb - currently available via EBSCO)
    Index to Legal Periodicals & Books database indexes over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications. (1981-Present)

Multidisciplinary Resources

  • JSTOR
    A digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. JSTOR provides access to materials in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.

Native American Law

News

  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. LN Academic provides access to some of the resources available via Lexis Advance and LexisNexis Law School.

Reference

  • Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations  
      
    A list of more than 35,000 abbreviations used in legal encyclopedias, law dictionaries, law reporters, loose-leaf services, law reviews, legal treatises, legal reference books and citators. In addition to providing the meaning of abbreviations and acronyms, this edition also enables the user to locate the abbreviations for titles, terms and names used in legal literature.
  • Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
    National directory of lawyers.

Securities Law & Regulation

South Dakota Legal Resources

  • FastCase
    Fastcase contains federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, constitutions, and court rules.
  • South Dakota Legislature
    The State of South Dakota provides access to bills and other resources from the current session as well as access to codified laws and session laws enacted in prior sessions.

Taxation

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip