Last Updated: Feb 14, 2013
URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=386792
Print Guide
- Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law provides access to primary and secondary legal resources.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. LN Academic provides access to some of the resources available via Lexis Advance and LexisNexis Law School.
- Lexis Advance
As the newest system from Lexis for Law Students and Legal Professionals, this research service provides access to a collection of databases available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases.
- LexisNexis Law School
Designed for law students and legal professionals, this system provides access to a collection of databases available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases.
- Westlaw / WestlawNext
Westlaw and WestlawNext provide access to primary and secondary legal resources. WestlawNext is the next generation of Westlaw. It provides Google-like searching to facilitate access to legal resources.
- ABA/BNA (Bloomberg - Bureau of National Affairs) Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct:
This resource covers various issues in lawyer professional conduct, providing a practice manual approach to preventing and dealing with professional conduct issues. This resource covers such professional conduct issues as Advertising and Solicitation, Client Funds and Property, Confidentiality, Conflicts of Interest, Fees, Lawyer-Client Relationship, Malpractice, Misconduct and Discipline, Obligations to Third Persons, Qualifications, Regulation of Bar, Trial Conduct, Types of Practice, and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Antitrust & Trade Regulations
Covers topics in antitrust, trade regulation, unfair and deceptive trade practices, and more. Covers international, national, and state jurisdictions.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Criminal Law Reporter
Resource covers aspects of criminal law such as capital punishment, confrontation right, search and seizure, sentencing and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Environment Reporter
Resource covering various recent and current issues in Environmental Law, including Air Pollution, Climate Change, Fracking, Water Pollution and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Family Law Reporter
This resource covers various topics in Family Law ranging from kidnapping by parents to same-sex marriage.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Health Law & Business Resource Center
Contains "portfolios" by subject area that include Antitrust, Contracting, Fraud & Abuse Compliance, Operational Issues, Structural & Legal Issues, Tax-Exempt Health Care Entities, Transactions, Accounting and Governance, and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Health Law Reporter
This resource covers various subjects in Health Law including Business & Taxation, Fraud, Abuse & Compliance, Health Information & Technology, Health Insurance & Benefits, Hospital & Provider Regulation, Medicare & Medicaid, and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Labor & Employment Law Resource Center
Resource covering various topics of labor and employment law, including Disabilities Law, Discrimination Law, Individual Employment Rights, Labor Arbitration & Collective Bargaining, Labor Relations, and Occupational Safety.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Securities Regulation & Law Reports
This resource covers various current topics in Derivatives, Disclosure, Financial System Reform, Insider Trading, Investment Advisers, Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act, and more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) Tax Center
This resource covers various topics in Tax and Accounting Policies including Compensation & Benefits, Estate Planning, Sales & Use, Transfer Pricing, Accounting, Tax Practice, Payroll, and much more.
- Bloomberg BNA (Bureau of National Affairs, Inc.) U. S. Law Week
This resource covers recent and current legal issues and stories in the United States. Popular topics include Class Actions, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, Electronic Discovery, Jurisdiction, Standing, and more. Also included is a breakdown of U.S. Supreme Court activities including opinions.
- Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law provides access to primary and secondary legal resources.
- FastCase
Fastcase contains federal and state case law, statutes, regulations, constitutions, and court rules.
- Federal Digital System (FDSys)
The Government Printing Office’s (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDSys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Federal Government. It provides access to the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regualtions as well as about 50 other collections of documents.
- HeinOnline (authenticated for remote access)
Provides access to a comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals. Each journal in the database begins from its inception. Also includes access to code of federal regulations, legal classics, treaties and agreements, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. statutes at large, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
- HeinOnline (in Law School Use)
Provides access to a comprehensive, image-based collection of legal periodicals. Each journal in the database begins from its inception. Also includes access to code of federal regulations, legal classics, treaties and agreements, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. Federal Legislative History, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. statutes at large, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
- JSTOR
A digitized archive of the backfiles of selected scholarly journals. JSTOR provides access to materials in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. LN Academic provides access to some of the resources available via Lexis Advance and LexisNexis Law School.
- Lexis Advance
As the newest system from Lexis for Law Students and Legal Professionals, this research service provides access to a collection of databases available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases.
- LexisNexis Law School
Designed for law students and legal professionals, this system provides access to a collection of databases available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online
This online dictionary is intended to present in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Contains both a historical and contemporary comparison of the world legal systems. An international and interdisciplinary reference work, the Encyclopedia covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
- ProQuest Congressional
Index of legislative information, including congressional publications from 1789 to the present, legislative histories for public laws dating back to 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, bill histories, the Congressional Record and Federal Register, Congressional Research Service reports, and information about congressional members and committees.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Provides abstract and full text access to dissertation and theses, including from SJD and LL.M. programs, from around the world. Select coverage from 1861 to the present day.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) was developed to support "the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research." The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 466,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 379,400 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.
- South Dakota Legislature
The State of South Dakota provides access to bills and other resources from the current session as well as access to codified laws and session laws enacted in prior sessions.
- Web of Science (via Web of Knowledge)
Largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. Citation analysis tools are available.
- Westlaw / WestlawNext
Westlaw and WestlawNext provide access to primary and secondary legal resources. WestlawNext is the next generation of Westlaw. It provides Google-like searching to facilitate access to legal resources.
- WorldCat / FirstSearch
An international, multi-disciplinary catalog of books, Internet resources, audio visual materials, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings and other materials held by over 20,000 OCLC libraries. This resource may be used to request item from other libraries via interlibrary loan.