This is the "Special Services for Alumni" page of the "Attorney, Alumni and Public Services User Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Attorney, Alumni and Public Services User Guide  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=371344 Print Guide RSS Updates

Special Services for Alumni Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Services are Available to Alumni?

Alumni of the USD School of Law may choose to take advantage of the following services:

  • Creation of a Law Library borrowing account (upon attorney admission)
  • Reference services
  • Access to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library, available for remote access upon registration (Details on how to register are available to the right)
 

Checking Out Materials

Many of the items in the library do not circulate, i.e. they may not be checked out of the library by attorneys.  For example, items in the REFERENCE and RESERVE collection may only be used within the library, along with most of the first-floor materials, including bound periodicals, state and federal primary materials, and legal encyclopedias. In general, only materials in the LOWEL LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION are available for check out.  These materials check out for an initial four-week period.

Items can be checked out in person at the Circulation Desk, by emailing LLibrary@usd.edu or by calling the Circulation Desk at 605-677-3930.

If you call or email, please describe the item thoroughly and include your name, current mailing address, and current phone number. At your expense, materials will be mailed to you by U.S. mail, library rate.  If you want quicker delivery, you must provide your practice or personal UPS or FedEx account information so that the Law Library is able to foward the requested resource(s).

 

About Alumni Access to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library

What is the HeinOnline Law Journal Library?

The Law Journal Library is a comprehensive, PDF image-based collection of legal periodicals, containing over 1,800 law and law-related periodicals, including the South Dakota Law Review, among many others.  Coverage of each journal in the database begins from its inception.  More information on the Law Journal Library is available here.   

How do I register for the HeinOnline Law Journal Library?

Alumni interested in registering for remote access to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library should send an email to LLibrary@usd.edu with the following information:  Name, Firm or Practice Name, Email, Telephone Number, and Law School Class Information (Year of Graduation).  A user name and password will be generated by the Law Library staff and sent by reply email.

Once registered, how do I access the HeinOnline Law Journal Library?

Registered users are able to access the database from the Law Library's website by clicking on the link titled Research Databases.   The link for ALUMNI access to the HeinOnline Law Journal Library should appear in the "Featured Databases" box at the top of the page.  (Note:  Clicking on the links for HeinOnline (for either in law-school use or remote access) from the "Most Frequently Used Databases" box or from the "H" box in the A-Z list will direct you to the student/faculty database and you will be denied access.)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip