This is the "Finding Materials in the Library" page of the "Attorney, Alumni and Public Services User Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
 

Attorney, Alumni and Public Services User Guide  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.usd.edu/content.php?pid=371344 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Materials in the Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Layout and Maps

Below is a general outline of the materials and services found on each floor:

Main Floor:

  • Circulation Desk
  • Reference Desk
  • Copier/Scanner
  • Public Access Computers
  • Reference Collection
  • Reserve Collection
  • South Dakota Collection (SDCL, Session Laws, etc.)
  • American Law Reports
  • Legal Encyclopedias
  • Forms Books
  • Federal Primary Materials (Codes, Regulations, Supreme Court Reports)
  • Reporters
  • State Codes for Adjacent States
  • Native American and Indigenous Peoples Collection

Lower Level:

  • Administrative Agency Reports and Government Documents
  • Circulating Collection
  • Foreign Law Materials
  • Bound Periodicals (Organized alphabetically by journal title)

Upper Level:

  • Superseded Collection
  • Historical Research Collection

 

Searching the Library's Online Catalog

Search "One Search" for books, articles, media, and more:

Use Advanced Search for more search options

Search USD and libraries worldwide with WorldCat@USD

 

How to Read a Call Number

In the library's online catalog, the "call number" of a book appears in the field titled Location.  

The following example is from the library's catalog for the title: Tort law in America : an intellectual history / G. Edward White.

The call number is shown in the Location field of the catalog as:  LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION KF1249 .W48 2003

On the spine of a book, the numbers would appear vertically, like this:

KF1249

W48

2003

In this example, LOWER LEVEL - CIRCULATING COLLECTION indicates the general location of the title in the library.

The additional letters and numbers are designed to help you find the precise location of the book.  All books in a particular section of the library are organized alphabetically by call number, A-Z.  Each set of shelves is labeled with a sign indicating the call numbers of books that are located in that set of shelves.  The McKusick Law Library uses call numbers assigned under the Library of Congress (LC) classification system.

In this example, the first letter K, indicates that the book is generally about Law, according to the LC system. The second letter, F, indicates that the book is about U.S. Law. See the box to the right titled Summary of Library of Congress Classification.  The majority of the books in the McKusick Law Library are classified under K or KF but there are titles under many other letter divisions as well.  

The numbers 1249 indicate what type of U.S. Law the book is about.  Referring to the box to the right titled Summary of (K) Law Classification, you will see that 1287 falls within the range of 1246-1327 which contains books about the law of torts.

The numbers following the decimal, W48, are based on the author's last name (White). These numbers are added to the call number so that each book has a unique number and they determine the order that the books are shelved.  The last number, 2003, indicates the year that the book was published.

 

Summary of Library of Congress Classification

A:   General Works

B:   Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

C-F:   History

G:   Geography

H:   Social Sciences

J:   Political Science

JZ:   International Relations

K:    Law

KF:   U.S. Law

L:   Education

M:   Music

N:   Art, Architecture

P:   Literature, Language

Q:   Mathematics, Technology, Computing

R:   Medicine

S:   Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries, Oceanography

T:   Technology, Engineering

U:   Military

V:   Naval Science, Navigation

Z:   Bibliography, Librarianship

 

Summary of (K) Law Classification

K:   Jurisprudence, Comparative Law, International Trade, Human Rights

KD-KDK:   British and Irish Law

KDZ:   Law of the Americas (OAS, NAFTA)

KE:   Canadian Law (federal)

KEA-KEY:   Law of Canadian provinces and territories 

KF:   United States Law

KF16-153:   Legislative Documents, Statutes, Reports

KF154-170:   Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Formbooks

KF220-224:   Criminal Trials

KF240-251:   Legal Research and Writing

KF261-334:   Legal Education and Legal Profession

KF350-382:   U.S. Legal History and Jurisprudence

KF398-418:   Equity, Conflict of Laws

KF501-553:   Domestic Relations, Family Law

KF560-720:   Property

KF726-780:   Trusts, Estate Planning, Wills

KF801-1241:   Contracts

KF1246-1327:   Torts

KF1341-1480:   Agency, Associations, Corporations

KF1501-1548:   Bankruptcy

KF1601-1668:   Trade Regulation, Antitrust

KF1681-2940:   Regulated Industries

KF2971-3192:   Intellectual Property, Copyright, Trademark & Patent Law

KF3301-3580:   Labor Law, Employment Discrimination

KF3941-3977:   Public Safety

KF4101-4257:   Education Law

KF4501-5130:   Constitutional Law

KF5300-5332:   Local Government Law

KF5336-5398:   Government Employees

KF5500-5865:   Public Property, Public Restraints on Private Property

KF6200-6795:   Public Finance, Taxation

KF7201-7755:   National Defense, Military Law

KF8201-8228:   Indian Law

KF8700-8807:   Court Organization and Procedure

KF8810-9075:   Civil Procedure

KF9201-9479:   Criminal Law

KF9601-9760:   Criminal Procedure

KF9771-9827:   Juvenile Criminal Law and Practice

KFA-KFW:   Law of Individual States (South Dakota is located under KFS)

KFX:   Law of Individual Cities

KG-KV:   Foreign Law

KZ:   Law of Nations (International Law)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip